Skip to content

PIECE OF CAKE, PEACE OF MIND

Exploring, creating, & reflecting one day at a time

Two days ago I baked up a batch of boxed brownies for the first time in months (for a spur of the moment pool-gathering at my house). Afterwards, my immediate thought was “Man, I forgot how quick and easy that was.” And then immediately following that, I felt…well, lame.  An avid scratch-baker for a couple of years now, I’d began to turn my nose up at anything you could buy at the grocery store that contained more than one ingredient.  That impromptu brownie making made me realize, though, that that’s stupid.  Scratch-baking has its time and place, as does baking with boxed mixes. And even though I’ve had this realization, I couldn’t help but think for the last two days what my next scratch-baked item would be. And then it came to me–BLUEBERRY MUFFINS!

But not just any blueberry muffins; I wanted to make those excessively large, super moist, and entirely satisfying muffins you can find at your local coffee shop.  So I found a recipe online, via allrecipes.com, and set off to make big muffins. Then I realized that I only had little muffin/cupcake pans.  So I snagged my mom’s 20% off coupon to Bed, Bath, & Beyond and acquired a brand new giant muffin tray. I love getting new baking gear. It always feels a little bit like Christmas…

Anyway, I’m going to head over to my old high school in a little bit to drop off some blueberry deliciousness and hopefully brighten someone’s day. But be warned–these muffins are not for the faint of heart. They are BIG. You can make them small, and I’m sure they’d taste just as good, but they definitely won’t have the same WOW-factor.

I ended up doubling the batter part of the recipe and next time I’ll probably halve the crumble part (remember, this is for big muffins; you’d probably want to keep the amount of crumble the same as in the recipe if you were making normal sized muffins). This ended up making 6 muffins–I filled the cups all the way to the rim with the batter before sprinkling the crumble topping on top. I think I’ll probably add a bit of lemon zest the next time I use this recipe also.

BLUEBERRY MUFFINS

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 cup fresh blueberries
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup butter, cubed
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Grease muffin cups or line with muffin liners.
  2. Combine 1 1/2 cups flour, 3/4 cup sugar, salt and baking powder. Place vegetable oil into a 1 cup measuring cup; add the egg and enough milk to fill the cup. Mix this with flour mixture. Fold in blueberries. Fill muffin cups right to the top, and sprinkle with crumb topping mixture.
  3. To make crumb topping: Mix together 1/2 cup sugar, 1/3 cup flour, 1/4 cup butter, and 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon. Mix with fork, and sprinkle over muffins before baking
  4. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes in the preheated oven, or until done. (My muffins took about 35 minutes)

Enjoy!

