Skip to content

PIECE OF CAKE, PEACE OF MIND

Exploring, creating, & reflecting one day at a time

The name’s a mouthful, I know. And so are these cookies.I was sitting around the other day when I realized that I haven’t baked in a really, REALLY long time. And in that moment, the urge to create a new recipe overcame me. I’m a sucker for any peanut butter-chocolate combination, so I thought to myself, what could be better than peanut butter chocolate chip cookies?

Peanut butter OATMEAL chocolate chip cookies, of course! Now, this might be my somewhat new norcal sentiments speaking, but I think oats make almost any recipe better. In cookies, they add more texture and body. In toppings, they add a crunch and a nutty flavor. I personally also think they balance out sweetness really well so you’re not choking on sugar.

Man do I love oatmeal, and man do I love how these babies came out! Make sure you have a glass of milk handy if you try these babies…you know how that peanut butter can be.

And now it’s time to go distribute them to the hungry masses that are my friends…

PEANUT BUTTER OATMEAL CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 c. butter
  • a heaping 1/3 c. peanut butter
  • 1/2 c. brown sugar
  • 1/4 c. granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 c. all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • a heaping cup of quick oats
  • 3/4 c. chocolate chips

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cream butter, peanut butter, and both sugars until light and fluffy.
  2. Add in the egg and vanilla extract and beat until fully combined, then add the flour, baking soda, and baking powder, and continue beating until all ingredients are incorporated.
  3. Add the oats & chocolate chips and mix by hand until just incorporated.
  4. Drop tablespoons of cookie dough onto a baking sheet and bake for 10-12 minutes, until edges begin to brown.
