Skip to content

PIECE OF CAKE, PEACE OF MIND

Exploring, creating, & reflecting one day at a time

Last night I had one of the best home-cooked meals I’ve had in a very, very long time.  And no, I didn’t make it.

Meet Brandt.

He is, indeed, the very same Brandt that I was glowing about in my last post.  He took the reins last night and whipped up two homemade pizzas. With homemade crust.

My other friends Nick and Mike and I helped with all the sous-chef type tasks like chopping veggies, grating cheese, and washing dishes.  And after two and a half very long hours of preparation and anticipation (plus a little bit of hesitation that our oven wouldn’t pull through for us), both pizzas came out beautifully.  Zucchinis, mushrooms, garlic, corn, and green bell peppers topped our vegetarian feast (for Brandt is a vegetarian, I learned recently).

And how can you possibly follow an act like homemade pizza with fresh veggies and homemade crust?

Homemade apple, peach, and strawberry crumble with vanilla ice cream.

But it gets even better–the apples we used in the crumble were picked from our very own apple tree that lives just outside of my room in the front of our house.  Brandt, a triathlete, bravely and precariously climbed the tree for what we deemed a worthy cause while I stood below, collecting the apples he dropped.

Overall the meal was a great group effort headed by an awesome cook. But the true magnitude of his awesomeness will be tested when we have the cinnamon roll bake-off that we’ve been planning…

