Skip to content

PIECE OF CAKE, PEACE OF MIND

Exploring, creating, & reflecting one day at a time


Man, it’s been a long time since I’ve posted anything. Fortunately, this doesn’t mean that I haven’t been baking–I just haven’t really had time to test/make new recipes and post about them (school tends to do that). I’ve been sticking to tried-and-true recipes, most of which already have their own dedicated posts. 

So now that I’m finally pretty settled into my schedule for the semester (almost two-thirds of the way in, haha), I decided it was time for a new post.

It was my good friend Nick’s birthday last week, and so the week before, he not-so-subtly reminded me that his favorite type of cake was carrot cake. I used to make carrot cake and zucchini bread a lot with my mom when I was younger and haven’t really done it too recently since then except for a batch of carrot cupcakes last year, so I was actually pretty excited.

Everything went pretty well, except that my hands were dyed orange for a day and the frosting was a little bit uncooperative. The day I made the cake, we had a heatwave here in Berkeley and it was around 95 degrees outside, and since we have no air conditioning, I’m guessing it was around 100 degrees inside the house with the oven running. Consequently, the frosting was really runny, but still delicious, and in the end, even though the cake looked kind of sad and droopy, it tasted pretty darn good and Nick was happy, so my mission was accomplished.

CARROT CAKE

INGREDIENTS:

  • 4 eggs
  • 3/4 c. vegetable oil
  • 1/3 c. applesauce
  • 1 c. white sugar
  • 1 c. dark brown sugar
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 c. all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 3 1/4 c. grated carrots (I used 4 or 5 medium carrots)
  • 1 c. chopped pecans (walnuts could be used here, but Nick insisted on pecans, and I’m pretty glad he did)

For the Frosting:

  • 1/2 c. butter, softened
  • 8 oz. cream cheese
  • 3 c. confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 c. chopped pecans

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease and flour 2-9 inch rounds.
  2. Beat together eggs, oil, sugar, and vanilla in a large bowl.  Mix in flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon.  Fold in the carrot shreds and pecans.  Pour into pans.
  3. Bake for 40-50 minutes, then let cool before turning the cakes out onto a plate.
  4. For the frosting: beat butter and cream cheese until creamy.  Mix in vanilla.  Add powdered sugar gradually and beat until smooth.  frost the rounds as a layer cake and cover the outside in pecans, or mix pecans directly into frosting.
