Skip to content

PIECE OF CAKE, PEACE OF MIND

Exploring, creating, & reflecting one day at a time

I guess I should give a fair warning now that you shouldn’t get used to this regular posting business.  I’m only blogging because  I’m supposed to be studying for my physics midterm right now, but I’d much rather not. This was the same scenario as last night, but substitute “studying for physics midterm” with “writing essay” and blogging with baking a cake.

Brandt and I decided that we would make something festive, as it is Halloween tomorrow and it doesn’t look like I’ll be celebrate in any grand way.  Brandt found a mysterious recipe for “black magic chocolate cake” somewhere in the depths of the internet–a chocolate cake recipe that includes lots of cocoa powder and strong, fresh brewed coffee.  It also includes buttermilk, but because of our reluctance to make a journey to the grocery store at 10:30 PM, we substituted buttermilk for 1 tbsp white vinegar and 1 c. milk.  It seems to have worked out pretty well.

I then found a dark chocolate frosting recipe which is delicious. Despite what it looks like in the pictures, the frosting wasn’t all that runny; the problem was that with midnight baking comes much less patience for cooling before frosting.  We didn’t really care though because the cake turned out pretty tasty and a couple of our upstairs neighbors even came down to share it with us. Now, back to the books…but Happy Halloween, anyway, I guess.

 

YUMMY CHOCOLATE FROSTING

INGREDIENTS:

  • 6 tbsp softened butter
  • 2 2/3 c. powdered sugar
  • 1/2 c. cocoa powder
  • 6 tbsp. milk
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Beat butter until smooth.
  2. Add powdered sugar and cocoa powder gradually, alternating with milk.
  3. Add vanilla and beat until smooth & light.
