Skip to content

PIECE OF CAKE, PEACE OF MIND

Exploring, creating, & reflecting one day at a time


My friend Airlex celebrated his 19th birthday yesterday. Naturally, I asked him what he wanted me to bake for the occasion and he was insistent on something strawberry flavored. 

Yesterday was also the day of the Big Game, though, so we opted to do the cake on Friday.

And, despite what the weather man said (that it was going to start raining on Saturday), it started coming down pretty hard as I was baking, which was annoying because I had to deliver the cake in the rain.  I was pretty certain I was going to drop it on the way there, but whaddya know? I didn’t!

This cake was a semi-scratch cake, which goes against a lot of what I feel about baking, but as I learned from hunting for a recipe, there are very few, if any, scratch strawberry cake recipes. So I decided that if I was going to make a cake based out of a box, I would have to make it awesome.

How did I do this?, you may ask. Two things–strawberry preserves between the layers, and an amazing white chocolate buttercream.

Super simple and super yummy (or so I was told), this recipe I found on the internet only uses 4 ingredients:

  • 2 sticks of butter
  • 2 cups of powdered sugar
  • 6 oz white chocolate, melted and cooled (but be careful to not let it harden!)
  • 3-5 tbsp. half & half

Simply beat the sugar and butter until combined, then add the white chocolate and half & half and mix until light & spreadable.
Beware though: it’s pretty dang sweet, which pairs nicely with tart flavors, like the preserves in the middle of the cake.

The lettering on top of the cake was done with some of the extra white chocolate I had, with a bit of normal food coloring, piped out of a good ol’ ziploc baggie.

Now it’s time to mentally prepare myself for cooking my family’s entire Thanksgiving dinner in a couple of days.  Eep!

