Skip to content

PIECE OF CAKE, PEACE OF MIND

Exploring, creating, & reflecting one day at a time


I do realize I have been lagging on posts lately. It was probably the enormous food coma I’ve been in for the past four weeks. 

Today was the first day of classes, though, and you know what that means–dry lectures, a million syllabuses, and boredom.

So I finally took the initiative and uploaded all the pictures that have been sitting in my camera, including some pretty spiffy macros that you can see on my flickr. The bees were very cooperative with me that day.

I’ve also decided to do a double recipe post to make up for some of my lagginess…and gee golly are they good ones…almost good enough to pull you out of that “oh my god it’s already second semester but it’s not even close summer yet?!” funk.

First up: those yummy snickerdoodles I talked about in my Christmas cookie post. I decided they were too good not to share…I made them twice in the 3 weeks I was home–both double batches. And they each disappeared within 2 days. Soooo…if that doesn’t convince you they’re good, make them yourself and see. Found the recipe on allrecipes; apparently they were created by Mrs. Sigg, whoever that is:

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons cream of tartar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C).
  2. Cream together butter, shortening, 1 1/2 cups sugar, the eggs and the vanilla. Blend in the flour, cream of tartar, soda and salt. Shape dough by rounded spoonfuls into balls.
  3. Mix the 2 tablespoons sugar and the cinnamon. Roll balls of dough in mixture. Place 2 inches apart on ungreased baking sheets.
  4. Bake 8 to 10 minutes, or until set but not too hard. Remove immediately from baking sheets.

Secondly, some double chocolate chunk cookies I made for my friend Matt’s birthday. I bought chocolate chunks at Safeway before winter break because they were on sale for some ridiculous price. Naturally, I bought a couple bags. When it came time to find a recipe, it was evident that the good ol’ Nestle Tollhouse recipe was best, with a little less baking soda (because they were kinda puffy). My one regret with these tasty guys: I didn’t add nuts. Do it if you make these, please. Please. Oh, and regarding the puffiness, be sure to give these guys a little squish down when you bake em so they don’t come out looking like muffin tops, like such:

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup NESTLE® TOLL HOUSE® Baking Cocoa
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup butter or margarine, softened
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 2/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 3/4 cups NESTLE® TOLL HOUSE® Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chunks

Directions

  1. PREHEAT oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. COMBINE flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt in a medium bowl. Beat butter, sugar, brown sugar and vanilla extract in a large mixing bowl until creamy. Beat in eggs. Gradually beat in flour mixture. Stir in chunks. Drop by rounded tablespoon onto ungreased baking sheets.
  3. BAKE for 9 to 11 minutes or until cookies are puffed and centers are set but still soft. Cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes; remove to wire racks to cool completely.

Enjoy and be prepared for my next post…it will contain a lot of bacon.

