Skip to content

PIECE OF CAKE, PEACE OF MIND

Exploring, creating, & reflecting one day at a time

Didn’t wanna study today, so I cleaned up a little bit around the house, pretended to read a book, made scones, pancakes, and chocolate souffle for the first time ever! I know it’s been a long time since my last post, and the reason for this is because I am lazy. Very, very lazy.  I’ve been baking still though, of course. Isn’t it funny how blogging and cleaning become so appealing once midterms roll around?
The conclusion of this spur of the moment decision was that all those myths about souffle being difficult to make seem to be exaggerated. Either that or I’m an awesome baker. Hehe.
I also learned that a lot of people are unfamiliar with our friend, the souffle, so I’ll try to give a brief description to those who are unaware: a souffle is an extremely light and fluffy creature–it can be served savory or as a dessert.  I prefer the latter.  The thing that makes a souffle so darn fluffy is that it’s made with egg whites that have been beaten into a meringue.  And while I despise meringue on its own, I applaud its contribution in desserts like these.
Anywho, the most difficult part is probably whipping up the egg whites with Brandt’s $20 hand mixer from Target.  Don’t get me wrong, that thing has served me well over the past year, but whipping egg whites to stiff peaks is one thing I wish I had my home stand mixer for.  Another difficulty for some people might be lack of equipment.  Truthfully I’d never even thought about making souffle before Brandt came back from winter break with his mini ramekins (which I also plan on using for individual servings of baked mac & cheese, french onion soup, and other goodies).
I found the recipe on myrecipes.com via google, of course. And as far as the warning goes about not doubling the flour if you double the recipe, I totally read over this part and did exactly that and they turned out fine.  I really liked this recipe because it tells you to sprinkle the outside of the ramekin with granulated sugar.  This translates into an awesomely delicious crust around the outside, probably my favorite part of the thing.  My roommates and I also decided it would be delicious to put a piece of chocolate or a mini peanut butter cup in the center of each of these before baking, to make an awesome molten (peanut buttery) filling. And don’t forget the whipped cream and/or vanilla ice cream!

INDIVIDUAL CHOCOLATE SOUFFLES

INGREDIENTS (MAKES 2 SOUFFLES)

  • 4 1/2  tablespoons  granulated sugar, divided
  • 1  tablespoon  all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2  tablespoons  Dutch process cocoa
  • 2  tablespoons  fat-free milk
  • 1/4  teaspoon  vanilla extract
  • 1  large egg white
  • 1  teaspoon  powdered sugar

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350°.
  2. Coat 2 (6-ounce) ramekins with cooking spray; sprinkle each with 3/4 teaspoon granulated sugar. 
  3. Combine 2 tablespoons granulated sugar, flour, cocoa, and milk in a small saucepan over medium heat. Cook 2 minutes, stirring until smooth. Spoon chocolate mixture into a medium bowl; cool 4 minutes. Stir in vanilla.
  4. Place egg white in a medium bowl; beat with a mixer at high speed until soft peaks form. Add remaining 2 tablespoons granulated sugar, 1 teaspoon at a time, beating until stiff peaks form (do not overbeat). Gently stir 1/4 of egg white mixture into chocolate mixture; gently fold in remaining egg white mixture. Spoon mixture into prepared dishes. Sharply tap dishes 2 or 3 times to level. Place dishes on a baking sheet; bake at 350° for 15 minutes or until puffy and set. Sprinkle each soufflé with 1/2 teaspoon powdered sugar. Serve immediately.
