Skip to content

PIECE OF CAKE, PEACE OF MIND

Exploring, creating, & reflecting one day at a time


Today is Cinco de Mayo! Oh, and it’s also Gina’s birthday. :)When we were living in Clark Kerr together last year, some of her favorite desserts were the lemon/lime bars. I tend to stick to chocolatey type desserts, so I thought it would be extra special to make her something with lemon.

I’ve also been wanting to find a good filled-cupcake recipe. And I definitely found it. These guys are made of lemon scented vanilla cake, filled with homemade lemon curd, and topped off with a simple vanilla icing (and mandatory celebratory rainbow sprinkles, of course).

messing around with my macro

The recipe is really fairly simple–so simple that I made the curd last night and woke up to bake the cupcakes and make the frosting at 7:30 this morning, and finished it all before my group project at 10. I found this recipe on Taste of Home. The hardest part is tempering the curd–it took me two tries to get it right, but it was totally worth it.

All that butter in the background is Brandt's--just FYI

To fill the cupcakes, all you have to do is attach a piping tip (I used the medium sized star tip) to a ziplog baggie and fill with the curd. Then just poke a hole in the top of the cupcake with the tip and squeeze some filling in. It’s a pretty delicious surprise.

The tart curd offsets the sweet frosting nicely, and I thought it was good that every component of the cupcake has different amounts of lemon in it, so it’s not overwhelming.

Gina certainly enjoyed them.

Happy birthday G!

I had some extra batter so I made some minis too, which came out really well. The perfect lil bite for someone who doesn’t want a whole cupcake (weird concept, I know, but some people are just like that).

I’m thinking of repeating this recipe next week for my friends’ graduation and topping them with strawberry frosting instead. Strawberry lemonade cupcakes, anybody?

<Aside>

Here’s what our kitchen looks like right now:

yes, those are all cupcakes

Details to follow…maybe.

