Skip to content

PIECE OF CAKE, PEACE OF MIND

Exploring, creating, & reflecting one day at a time


Whenever I go to coffee shops, I’m always lured into their brightly lit baked goods container. Especially because I’m usually not ordering any coffee (with the exception of days like yesterday) I always get so tempted to buy one of their over-the-top-decadent brownies or giant cookies.

Most of the time–like 95% of the time–I resist this urge because I end up realizing that these treats aren’t really worth the $3 or $4 most places charge.

Naturally, I thought to myself one day, Why not make your own giant cookies, Rachel?

And so I did. I found a recipe on AllRecipes.com that had really good reviews, so I started with it as a base. The most important thing is the refrigeration of the dough so it’s easy to scoop with the quarter-cup measuring cup (yes, a whole quarter cup of dough in each cookie instead of the usual meager 1-2 tbsp) and so the cookies don’t flatten out too much in the oven.

These cookies are big. I mean, I could only fit 6 on a cookie sheet. And they taste even better with walnuts & chocolate chunks instead of just chocolate chips (though Brandt may disagree about the walnuts).

When a couple of my friends from home came up around my birthday in January (yes, I’ve had these pictures on my camera since then), I doubled this recipe and disgustingly, all 36 giant cookies were gone by the end of the day. Needless to say, it was a good birthday.

BIG CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 2 cups semisweet chocolate chips (or chocolate chunks, which I prefer)
  • 1 cup walnuts (optional)

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F. Grease cookie sheets or line with parchment paper.
  2. Sift together the flour, baking soda and salt; set aside.
  3. In a medium bowl, cream together the melted butter, brown sugar and white sugar until well blended. Beat in the vanilla, egg, and egg yolk until light and creamy. Mix in the sifted ingredients until just blended. Stir in the chocolate chips by hand using a wooden spoon. Refrigerate dough for about an hour.
  4. Drop cookie dough 1/4 cup at a time onto the prepared cookie sheets. Cookies should be about 3 inches apart.
  5. Bake for 15 to 17 minutes in the preheated oven, or until the edges are lightly toasted. Cool on baking sheets for a few minutes before transferring to wire racks to cool completely.

In other news, you should check out Brandt’s tumblr that he started up fairly recently. He just made some chocolate chip cookie dough cupcakes (part of the cupcake hurricane that was in our kitchen 2 days ago). When he moves out at the end of the month, I guess I will only ever know he is still alive through his blog, since he’s moving a bajillion miles away to north berkeley. Or I guess I can always just make him come over here for impromptu baking parties. We’ll see.

