Skip to content

PIECE OF CAKE, PEACE OF MIND

Exploring, creating, & reflecting one day at a time


Like I said in my last post, I have not only gotten over my fear of the grill, but since then have grown well acquainted with the once fearsome friend. Today I made burgers and sweet potato fries to end a difficult week (for multiple reasons) and enjoyed them four different ways with Gina, Jill, and Rachel.

As you can already tell from the pictures, these were BIG burgers: a little more than a third pound each. I gobbled mine up quickly with a side of oven-baked sweet potato fries (golden & purple, in case you were wondering why they weren’t the usual orange) because I didn’t really eat today. Or yesterday, for that matter.

As part of my difficult week, I was already feeling down yesterday when I started to get a visual aura. For those of you who are lucky enough to have never had a migraine, a visual aura is (for me, at least) a partial loss of vision preceding an intense migraine. I’ve had one of these terrible headaches (if you can even call them that…) every year since the seventh grade (when I told my teachers I couldn’t see and none of them believed there was anything wrong until I threw up. nausea is another symptom of migraines). Boy do they suck. They pretty much incapacitate you for several hours. When I get a visual aura, I lock myself in my room, close all the windows, turn off all potential noise-making devices, and wait for the pain to come and (eventually) go. Usually I sleep it off, which is why I hit the hay at around 8:15 last night and didn’t get a chance to eat dinner. I woke up at 7 for class and had a small bowl of granola, but didn’t really eat again (save an apple) until we finished the burgers at around 5:45. And I managed to squeeze some swimming in there (did I tell you that I swim now?)…after which I almost passed out from a lack of calories I suppose.

Sorry, that was a lot of rambling. Back to the burgers.

Jill and I planned this dinner back in the beginning of the week and invited Rachel and Gina along so it would be a nice little gathering. We all went to Berkeley Bowl today at around 2 and picked up whatever we wanted to top our burgers: I went the classic route with cheddar, tomato, grilled onion, arugula, Berkeley Bowl fresh stone ground mustard, and ketchup all sandwiched between an Acme kaiser roll. MMmm. Rachel made a bleu cheese/mayo/thyme spread (I’m personally not a fan of bleu) which she spread on her sauteed onion and arugula burger. Gina went a little bit unconventional, adding honey to hers, while Jill went the sauteed onion-mushroom burger route, with sundried tomatoes.

Gina's

mine!

Rachel's

Jill's

The sweet potato fries, like I said, were oven-baked and came out really tasty. Jill and Rachel agreed that the purple ones were better (they were starchier and therefore less mushy)…I think orange potatoes would have been best but the ones at the market were so darn small I didn’t want to deal with all the peeling. These fries are one of the main reasons I wanted to make burgers; I’ve always wanted to make fries and always been too lazy. These were really easy, thanks to instructables, and I will definitely make them again, next time with more salt. I added fresh chopped rosemary and thyme to the mix as well which gave them a very restaurant-y taste. That’s always a good thing.

The meat—-the MEAT. So good. We all decided to “splurge” a little bit and go for the grass fed organic ground beef, but it ended up not being a splurge at all. At around $7/lb, we each had to pay just $3 for our giant burgers—-giant burgers that would cost about $10 at a restaurant. And you could really taste the difference. I’m all for saving money and such, but in cases like these where the meat is so prominent, you have to step it up.

So all in all, let’s just say that these burgers rivaled fiveten’s creations, though we admit that we forgot to add fried eggs to ours. Still, I challenge fiveten to a burger duel, because I think these came out that good.

Maybe I’m getting ahead of myself here, but I’m just excited, okay? All these grill adventures have been turning out pretty well. THANKS, INTERNET!

