Skip to content

PIECE OF CAKE, PEACE OF MIND

Exploring, creating, & reflecting one day at a time


I deserve a pat on the back. Why, you ask? Because I waited to blog until AFTER my summer school finals. You see, on a recent post (I don’t remember which exactly) I decided to blog instead of study and I remember saying something like “we’ll see how the midterm goes tomorrow…” Yeah. Well I saw. And sort of learned my lesson.
At any rate, the most important thing that you should draw from all of this is that summer school is OVER! This means that I have about a week and a half of summer break before the fall semester starts. Awesome.

I’m going home next Monday-Friday and I’m really excited to gorge on all my favorites, especially considering my plans the last time I was home were foiled by that pesky bought with food poisoning.

But back to the issue at hand: granola! As implied, I made this granola a few days ago, as part of a study break. It’s a tasty mix of hazelnuts, almonds, dried cherries, honey, and cinnamon. Found the recipe at the amateur gourmet a while back when I was researching granola. I made another batch of coconut-cherry-almond granola, which I burnt a little bit, but it was still good (sadly, no pictures).

Granola’s simple, relatively quick, and really tasty. I might be the first to let you know that granola, though, is not actually as healthy as it’s been made up to be over all these years. It’s actually kind of bad for you. Think of it as hippie candy. Either way, it’s delicious and I figure that it’s better I make it myself so I can monitor how much junk is going into it. Plus, with the bulk foods section at Berkeley Bowl, I have so many granola-making options! (Sorry, I think I’ve talked about Berkeley Bowl in my last 10 posts or so.)

The point is, if you spend tons of money at Whole Foods buying specialty granola (because it really is quite expensive), I urge you to try making it yourself instead. You can add fun extras like flax and chia seeds too! Woo! Now tell me that doesn’t sound like fun.

Granola

Ingredients

  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons plus 1 teaspoon vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup slivered almonds
  • 1/3 cup whole hazelnuts
  • 1/3 cup dried cherries

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. In a large bowl, toss the oats with the cinnamon and salt.
  3. In a medium bowl, stir together the oil, honey, brown sugar, and vanilla. Whisk until completely combined.
  4. Pour the honey mixture over the oats mixture and use your hands to combine them: Gather up some of the mixture in each hand and make a fist. Repeat until all of the oats are coated with the honey mixture.
  5. Pour the mixture onto the prepared baking sheet. Spread it out evenly, but leave a few clumps here and there for texture.
  6. Bake for 10 minutes, then remove from the oven and use a metal spatula to lift and flip the granola. Sprinkle the almonds over the granola and return the baking sheet to the oven.
  7. Bake for 5 minutes, then remove from the oven and use a metal spatula to lift and flip the granola. Sprinkle the hazelnuts over the granola and return the baking sheet to the oven.
  8. Bake for 10 minutes, then remove from the oven. Let cool completely. Sprinkle the cherries over the granola and use your hands to transfer it to an airtight container.
