Skip to content

PIECE OF CAKE, PEACE OF MIND

Exploring, creating, & reflecting one day at a time


Here goes part 2 of my catch-up series.

It was my friend Erica’s 21st birthday about a month ago and I wanted to make something for her. I really did not want to make cake for some reason (which I forget now) but Rachel had suggested oreo cupcakes to me when I asked her what I should make. Coincidentally, I had just ran across My Baking Addiction’s post on oreo brownies, and I decided that I would take a stab at them.

Although I love to make almost everything from scratch and firmly believe that most things SHOULD be made from scratch, brownies are not generally one of those things. It just seems to me that boxed brownies are so much easier and so very tasty that it’s not usually worth it to scratch bake them, but for a birthday it definitely is. So I followed the recipe mentioned, but added my own twist—I made them into brownie bites with my nifty mini muffin pan. This switch up turned out okay, but it’s kind of risky because as everyone knows, you NEVER want to overbake a brownie. The first batch (and unfortunately the larger) came out a tad overbaked; that is, they weren’t ooey and gooey as brownies should be. But the second batch came out better and they didn’t suffer too much because there was a nice dollop of absolutely amazing peanut butter buttercream atop each little bite.

I’m also not big on frosting, and especially buttercream, but seriously, this recipe won me over. I’m converted. If all buttercream tasted like this, I would weigh 500 lbs right now.

Rachel helped me decorate the little guys with some oreo crumbs and toppers we found at Spun Sugar. We packaged them up in some brown cake boxes which we decorated for the occasion.

All in all, they came out pretty tasty…just ask the boys who live (or lived? :() upstairs from me who scarfed down 3 when they visited during the packaging process.

OREO BROWNIES

adapted from My Baking Addiction

INGREDIENTS

  • 4 ounces unsweetened chocolate; coarsely chopped
  • 3/4 cup butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • ¼ teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 12 Oreos, chopped

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a mini muffin pan.
  2. Microwave chocolate and butter in large bowl at medium (50% power) for 3-4 minutes or until butter is melted.
  3. Whisk until chocolate is melted. Whisk in sugar, eggs, vanilla and salt. Gradually add flour and stir until just combined. Fold in 12 chopped Oreo cookies.
  4. Spread batter into prepared pan. Bake for 12 minutes; do not over bake.
  5. Remove to cooling rack. Allow to cool completely before cutting or frosting.

PEANUT BUTTER BUTTERCREAM

INGREDIENTS

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 2 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • a couple of tablespoons of cream

DIRECTIONS

  1. In a large bowl, beat butter and peanut butter until light and fluffy.
  2. Beat in the confectioner’s sugar.
  3. Add cream slowly while mixing until the desired spreading consistency is reached.
