Skip to content

PIECE OF CAKE, PEACE OF MIND

Exploring, creating, & reflecting one day at a time


Spaghetti? Squash? I don’t get it.
If you are anything like me just a week ago, I will take things slowly for you.

This, friends, is a spaghetti squash. It may look like any other squash on the outside, but on the inside it has a weird texture when cooked that makes it come out in strings, or “strands of spaghetti”. Thus the name.

In fact, the squash can take the place of the typical pasta in most high carb, low nutrition meals, which is why (if you read my last post) I discovered it in the first place.

It’s one of those things that came into my life quite suddenly and made me sad that I hadn’t discovered it sooner.

So I finally went for it today, using the spaghetti squash I picked up from Berkeley Bowl (where else?). I ran across this interesting-looking recipe and decided to give it a try, with some modifications, mostly because I’m a sucker for cumin. I really, really am. I forgot to mention in my last post that in the past 4-5 months, I’ve gained an even deeper love for curries (specifically Indian curries) and spices. One of the major spices that give curry its curriness is cumin. It also lends flavor to spicy dishes like chili and mexican food. Therefore, in my book, it’s like a super spice. It’s absolutely my favorite spice right now, though cinnamon will always hold a special place in my heart.

Anyway, I modified the recipe by adding sauteed onions, freshly grated parmesan cheese, and a fried egg on top. Can I just say that the egg was one of my brighter moments? It was absolutely delicious, and I’m not sure I will be able to ever eat spaghetti squash again if it’s not accompanied by an egg. Ya, it was that good.

The spaghetti squash itself is a little time consuming to work with—you have to roast it, let it cool a little bit, scrape out its strands, cook all the other ingredients, and toss everything together. But I think it’s worth it if you’re not in too much of a rush. Low calorie, high flavor dinner. And squash is loaded with nutrients to boot! And once again, I have a lovely lunch to look forward to tomorrow.

The conclusion of all this: everyone should go out and buy a spaghetti squash at least once in their lives. Do it.

