Skip to content

PIECE OF CAKE, PEACE OF MIND

Exploring, creating, & reflecting one day at a time


Hello, there. Long time no see.I mean that from the blogging perspective but probably also in real life if you know me personally. I’ve been sort of a hermit the past few months, getting really into knitting and other hermit-like hobbies.

I was busy for a long time filling out what seemed like a billion law school applications and then came the busy season for the Christmas company that I work at. As you can imagine, it’s been sort of hard to find time to blog and also to see people.

That’s not to say that I haven’t been baking, though. I’ve been baking. A lot. So much so, in fact, that I’ve (finally) started purchasing butter and flour from Costco because I was burning through those staple ingredients so quickly.

One thing that I’ve been trying to make more of? Bread. Why? Because there are few things in the world greater than a slice of fresh-out-of-the-oven bread.

I’ve made two types of challah over the past couple of months, the most recent being a fall-themed “faux pumpkin” challah. I say faux pumpkin because, well, I didn’t actually use pumpkin. My CSA box last week came with 5 pounds of organic sweet potato, so I pureed a couple of those and threw them in in place of the pumpkin. Sweet potato, as I found when experimenting with my 5 pounds of the tuber, is a really great substitute for pumpkin. The two sweet potato pies I whipped up were a new, yet familiar tasting addition to the fall pie line up. My Vitamix does (among other things) an amazing job at making light and fluffy purees of any fruit, vegetable, root, or squash.

Aside from baking a bunch, this past week has been pretty eventful and I have, yet again, a lot to be thankful for. I started hearing back from law schools (good news so far!) and got some good news from the office as well. Even though this was the first year in several that I wasn’t able to go home (and cook my family’s Thanksgiving meal), I had my fair share of food. On Sunday, Nick and his roommates made sort of a hodge podge of delicious comfort food–meatloaf, ravioli, cheesy mashed potatoes, brussel sprouts, pumpkin pie & root beer floats. Sam’s mom also visited last weekend and generously bought us a bunch of groceries. The result was a pre-Thanksgiving meal that I made on Monday & Tuesday night, complete with red wine braised short ribs, cauliflower mashed potatoes, balsamic roasted brussel sprouts, homemade parker house rolls, and a fresh apple pie to top it all off. Both meals were a great chance to share some delicious food with friends and reminded me that dinner parties are awesome. They’re sometimes hard to pull off when you’re on a budget, but that makes me extra grateful for holidays like Thanksgiving that act as a good excuse to splurge a little (both with my time and money!).

On Thursday, Kevin was nice enough to invite me, Vicki, and Andy over for his family’s Thanksgiving meal. the highlight of which was not being given a choice when the desserts came out–every guest was given a “sampler” plate with two slices of pie and two slices of cake. My kind of people!

Jenn visited last night and we spent the morning doing some touristy activities, walking through the Mission & Hayes Valley…not to mention the Tenderloin.

So, even though I didn’t get to see my family, my Thanksgiving week wasn’t too shabby. A little stressful at times…but not too shabby at all.  I’m actually pretty glad I took a break from my solitude, but now it’s back to the yarn.  There are mittens to be made!

Tags: , , ,

